Welcome to eStudyabroad.in

Australia Skilled Migration Visa

General Skilled Migration (GSM)

The Skilled Migration Program is a points-based system designed to attracted highly qualified and experienced professionals in occupations in demand.

The Department of Immigration and Border Protection introduced The Australian SkillSelect system on 1 July 2012, which brought big changes to the General Skilled Migration program.

SkillSelect is an online service that helps Australia regulate the inflow of skilled migrants in order to avoid market saturation in certain fields. It also supports the government in managing who can apply for skilled visa applications.

These changes have developed some great opportunities for people who may not have previously been eligible for migration to Australia.

How the General Skilled Migration Process Works

  • Make sure your occupation is on the relevant Skilled Occupation list
  • Apply for your Skills Assessment
  • You must lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI), which is not a visa application and doesn’t give you a bridging visa, but ensures you are in the queue
  • You may receive an Invitation to apply for a visa
  • Upon invitation, you submit a visa application
  • Receive your visa grant
General Requirements Needed to Apply for an Expression of Interest

There are basic requirements you must meet to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) before you can lodge a visa application.


Your occupation, that matches your skills and qualifications, must be on the relevant occupation list for the purpose of General Skilled Migration.


Be less than 45 years of age when you are invited to apply.

Skills Assessment

You must have a positive skills assessment from the relevant skills assessing authority for your nominated occupation.

Points Test

You must score at least 65 on the points test unless your occupation is one that requires a higher score.


Have a competent level of English. For further information please access ‘English Requirements for Australian Visas’.

General Skilled Visa Options

Skilled Independent Subclass 189

Permanent Skilled visa option, the skilled independent does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government.

Skilled Nominated Subclass 190

A permanent skilled visa requiring nomination by an Australian State or Territory government.

Skilled Nominated or Sponsored Provisional Subclass 489

This visa allows skilled workers to live and work in specified regional areas in Australia for up to four years.
You will need to be sponsored by either an eligible Australian relative or a state or territory government of Australia.

Skilled Regional Subclass 887 Visa

This is a permanent visa for people who have lived and worked in specified areas of regional Australia.
To qualify for this visa, you will be required to have lived in a specified regional area of Australia for at least two years and have worked full time in a specified regional area for at least one year.

Temporary Graduate Visa subclass 485

The Graduate visa (subclass 485) allows international students to live, study and work in Australia on a temporary basis after they have completed two academic years of study in Australia.

This visa has two streams: Graduate Work and Post Study Work.